Return to the Hot Pepper Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
peppers too small

Posted by beecho new york (My Page) on
Sun, Aug 15, 10 at 11:00

This is my first year growing anything and I have a couple varieties of peppers. All are growing in containers and are doing very well. The only issue is that my jalapenos seem to be alittle small and turning black. I've left them on the plant to see if the black was just going to change to red but they are staying black and green. Also, my tabasco plant has A LOT of peppers but they are all about 1 inch long and they are all starting to turn orange and red. The tabasco plant is in a rather smaller container (10inch) so I'm wondering if that has anything to do with it. The jalapenos are in a much larger container and its basically the same issue. Any advice would be appreciated

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: peppers too small

I seem to be having the same problem. I have 3 hot cherry pepper plants that are in 5Gallon buckets and doing very well. There must be 100 small peppers on them. I have already harvested about 20 because they turned red. They don't seem to get any bigger than an inch in diameter. Same with my jalepeno plants. The peppers grow to about 1 1/2" long and start changing colors. My cowhorn peppers, same thing. The only thing doing great are my Hungarian wax plants. They seem to produce tons of peppers no matter what I do. Anything I can do to get these peppers to grow a little better? The weather is perfect here in Philly. 80-90F during the day. They get plenty of water. They are in decent sized containers. I'm not using any nitrogen fertilizers. I don't know what the problem is. Any advice?
Sorry about the long post.

o

The black color sounds typical. It could be a bit of sun scorch, which will eventually disappear.
On average, peppers in containers will bear slightly smaller fruit. There will usually be a
few pods that are full-sized, however.