Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
john11840

Naga Jolokia

John A
12 years ago

This is my first year to grow Naga Jolokias. I thought they were supposed to be super hot. I harvested my first ones today and they weren't nearly as hot as the habs, chocolate scotch bonnets or aji umbas that I also harvested. Did I misunderstand how hot they were supposed to be?

John A

Comments (16)

• greenman28 NorCal 7b/8a
    12 years ago

Got any pics? Could they be the PC-1, perhaps?

I haven't harvested my Nagas yet, but the pods look the same as my Bih Jolokia and possibly
    my Dorset Naga, too (pods are too small to tell).

Josh

• User
    12 years ago

I agree with Josh, you may be growing the Naga Jolokia PC-1. It is a C. Frutescens variety and grows like a Thai (fruit pointing up).

The *hot* Naga Jolokia is a C. Chinense variety and its fruit looks like this:

Bill

12 years ago

Nice pic!

By the way, Bill, the seeds produced excellent plants!

Josh

• User
    12 years ago

Thanks Josh,

Nice to hear you were happy with the seed!

Bill

• John A
    Original Author
    12 years ago

I don't have any ripe ones now, but when I do I take a picture. They don't look as wringled as yours, Bill, but they definitely don't point up like Thai hots. I'll come back as soon as I have a picture to show.
    John A

• rdback
    12 years ago

John,

Here's a pic of the Naga Jolokia PC-1, just for reference. Very prolific plant. Hotter than a Cayenne. Makes a good powder.

Rick

• John A
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Thanks Rick, but it's definitely not that.
    John A

• smokemaster_2007
    12 years ago

My PC1 were more like shorter Cayenne pods.3-5 inches long and pendant.
    BUT they claim there is a Frutescens and Annuum.
    Mine were Frutescens according to the seed pack.

See link below.

My red and purple ones were like the purple ones in this data base.

Here is a link that might be useful: PC1,Purple Naga Jolokia

• John A
    Original Author
    12 years ago