Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
reemas_gw

container pot size for ghost chili

reemas
11 years ago

hi,

i'm completely new to gardening in general. i cannot take credit for these two plants (ghost chili on left and habanero on right) as i just bought these like this from a nursery.

i bought espoma potting mix and planted the two plants in a 25" rectangluar container.

couple questions:

1.) is this soil ok? do i need to add anything?

2.) is the container size okay? they came in smaller pots at the nursery and i just moved them into the box. is it deep enough?

3.) how often do i water them? i live in Long Beach, CA (near los angeles, CA).

any advice would be great. i'm totally lost.

Comments (8)

• richiebaker1245
    11 years ago

Hi reemus, I have a ghost and hab. I'm no expert but I gather from what I've learnt off this forum, that pot looks long and thin, too small for two plants. The bigger the better, so they can spread their roots. I think you're supposed to be able to fit the plant in the pot, if you were to hold it upside down. As for water, less is better. Wait until dry and nearly wilting. When I first got my ghost, it went pale and droopy because I was trying to look after it too much (over-watering). Can't help with your soil, never heard of it, but I'm in the uk.

Like I said, I'm no expert, but hope this helps.

Rich.

• capoman
    11 years ago

Yes, the pot is too shallow. Should be in 3 gallon pots each or larger. Not too familiar with the Espoma soil, but I suspect it's peat based. I would prefer a bark based soil but you can make peat soils work if you are careful not to over water it. You may want to check out the container forum as that's the best place for container soil, watering and fertilizer advice. Check out Tapla's treatise on these subjects which are the best pieces of container growing advice I've found. I've been growing peppers in containers for awhile now using his methods very successfully.