Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brandon_brummett

Complete gardening rookie looking to grow hot peppers

brandon_brummett
10 years ago

I am a complete gardening rookie/newbie. I have very little (if any) gardening experience but I love hot peppers and believe I would enjoy the challenge of growing some peppers (something very hot like a bhut jolokia/ghost chili!).

I'm looking for advice on how to start; what type of equipment to buy, where to buy seeds, what time to plant, etc. I did find out today I live in USDA Zone 6A...other than that I am a blank slate...

Any help would be greatly appreciated, as my level of gardening ignorance is immense, and from browsing some of the thread on hrere I think I could get a lot of helpful advice.

Comments (9)

• sidhartha0209
    10 years ago

Well, you've a good solid 6 months to get educated and prepared for the 2014 pepper growing season. If you're wanting to do some gardening this year check out things to grow like lettuce, greens, cole crops, possibly beets, and other cool weather crops over on the Vegetable Growing forum. I wouldn't worry too much about the chiles this year, it's over already.

• brandon_brummett
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Ha! I am allergic to lettuce so I think I will stay away from growing it. I figured I had missed the pepper growing season, but if I can gain some advice, knowledge, and insight from some of the other pepper growers on here maybe I can be ready for next season. Plus if there is anything I may need to buy then maybe I can put it on my Christmas list...

Again, any help would be greatly appreciated!

• scorpion_john
    10 years ago