Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dmforcier_gw

My first mouthful of peter. ... OMG! I may be gay!

DMForcier
10 years ago

I brought three (four?) peter plants to maturity this year. Three are like the naughty pictures you see on the web - true little dickheads. The fourth is a similar though much larger bush and the peps really aren't obscene: no glans. They also taste different.

The "true" Peter pepper has a nice floral scent and flavor. The less obscene one - I'm going to call the variety St. Peter - has an amazing scent of tea roses: that spicy, musky sweetness that you will recognize instantly once you're familiar with it. If you're a gin drinker, Hendrick's Gin which is infused with rose petals comes close to the freshness, though not as spicy.

This is my first year with peters. Is anyone familiar with eating them? Since my true peters aren't as prolific (St. Peter has produced half a peck already) it's hard to compare.

Dennis

Comments (12)

• mctiggs
    10 years ago

Hahahahaha never grown them. Funny tho!!

• roper2008
    10 years ago

Never tried them, but many say they aren't worth
    growing for eating.

• greenman28 NorCal 7b/8a
    10 years ago

I've heard they're fairly hot....but I prefer the Hendrick's ;-)

Josh

• scgreenthumb1987
    10 years ago

.....sooooooo many things that could be said

• scgreenthumb1987
    10 years ago

.....sooooooo many things that could be said

• kuvaszlvr
    10 years ago

You know, a lot of people buy Peter peppers from me and several rave that they are better than Jalapenos, mostly because they have a consistent heat. I haven't tried one yet (haha, oh, I am so good, I abstained from being dirty). You know the weird thing is, I've bought seeds from 3 different vendors, each one has produced different looking peppers. This year my plant has produced long skinny red fruit. Funny, I have Yellow and Orange both and those look correct.
    Pam

• DMForcier
    Original Author
    10 years ago