Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
biancasr

How can I get used to hot peppers?

biancasr
16 years ago

My hubby loves hot and spicy foods but I'm a wimp! I am new to growing peppers and I have only planted 2 plants that say "garden salsa pepper" and then a habenaro plant, just for him. His co-worker gave us an orange pepper that looked similiar to a Anaheim pepper. I cut it open, removed the seeds, cut a piece off and let him taste it. He said it wasn't too hot. So then I cut a tiny piece off, tasted it and had to spit it out! My whole mouth was on fire and my lips hurt for a good 15 minutes! WHY IS THIS? Am I just a wimp? Why didn't it bother him?

I had cut it up to add to some homemade salsa that we were making in the food processor, but instead of adding it to the big batch, I made him add it to his bowl.

How can I get used to hot peppers? Help! LOL

Comments (9)

• ardnek710
    16 years ago

Well you need to start low/slow and consistant and work your way up to the hotter stuff.
    Find a pepper that you find hot (not unbearable or painful, just hot) and start with that.
    Find ways to incorporate spicy peppers into all your foods. Add tiny amounts of milder hot sauces to your food and then you just work your way up. You will be amazed after awhile you find yourself adding a little more and a little more, or that jalepeno just doesn't seem as hot anymore.

Be careful and go slow, you don't want to hurt yourself, and remember some people will always have a natural limitation on how hot they can go. But with a little control and some consistent addition of hot to your foods you should start to build a type of tolerance to the heat.

Good Luck

Kendra

• shelbyguy
    16 years ago

start your tasting from the bottom tip. The heat is in the placental membrane holding the seeds to the pith. The closer you get to the calyx end of a pepper, the hotter it is going to be.