Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
shiggity

Spots on bell peppers

Shiggity
11 years ago

Hi, I'm growing bell peppers indoors and recently one got a spot on it (picture attached). It's about 3 inches long and not that wide. Could someone tell me what it might be?

Comments (13)

• esox07 (4b) Wisconsin
    11 years ago

I am not an expert but I am guessing BER or Blossom End Rot. I think lack of Calcium is the cause. But wait for others to chime in. It could be an insect or parasite type thing too.

If it is just the one pepper, then I wouldn't worry about it too much. You might want to pick that pepper and isolate it or destroy it so that if it is parasite or insect, you won't let it spread.
    Bruce

Bruce

• Darylltx
    11 years ago

I had some just like that which I thought was sunscald, but if you cut that pepper open you should see some webbing like a cocoon right behind where that spot is. Mine had little eggs in the webbing, but yours may not have the webbing. Please let me know what you find inside, as I'm curious.

• Darylltx
    11 years ago

sorry about losing such a large pepper. If you use some orange oil spray for a couple of applications, it should get rid of any pests, or a strong spray of water once or twice.

• Darylltx
    11 years ago

sorry about losing such a large pepper. If you use some orange oil spray for a couple of applications, it should get rid of any pests, or a strong spray of water once or twice.

• tsheets
    11 years ago

I sometimes get similar bad spots, but, aren't sure what causes them. I tend to think either a critter or disease. I don't think it's BER in this case.

• Darylltx
    11 years ago

spots and what I found inside

other areas in other peppers had perfect circles like yours

• esox07 (4b) Wisconsin
    11 years ago

That's just nasty. Sorry to hear about this guys. Especially on those Bells. They take so long and when one of them gets hit, it is a big loss.
    Bruce

• homefry319
    11 years ago