Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
randyyj

Various Pepper plants germinating

randyyj
11 years ago

Hello everyone, I'm new to this so go easy on me. I took a 72 cell starter greenhouse kit from Lowes and dropped two seeds of the same pepper in every cell but there are a bunch of different kinds of peppers. They have all come up at different times, and more than half have still not come up. I have it under Cool White fluorescents for 18 hours a day and I took the top off so that I wouldn't burn the peppers that have already popped up and I mist them every afternoon. The tray is in my enclosed barn that gets pretty warm during the day. Part of the cells have developed a little green mildew starting on them. Should I scale back my watering? Should I move the peppers inside where it doesn't get warm? Should I put the greenhouse top back on and move them over to a window where they see a little real sunlight? Or, am I right on track with what I'm doing? I planted them nine days ago.

Thanks!

Comments (9)

• tsheets
    11 years ago

They need the warmth to germinate, but, it depends on how warm "warm" is. Ideally, you want 80's for germination. They don't need light until their heads poke through, but, once they do, they need it now!

The green mold/fungus stuff is bad. The conditions are too moist, and I would bet very little air flow. Cut back on the water (should be damp, but, not sopping wet) and see if you can get a fan or something to gently circulate the air. This will also help dry it out - meaning you might not have to cut back on your misting depending on how much air flow. You'll just have to watch and make a judgement call. Also, in my experience the vast majority of the time, when there is that green furry stuff, the seeds in that cup/cell isn't going to come up. Not always, but, most of the time.

9 days isn't that long. Anything that hasn't popped in another 9 days or so, probably isn't going to. But, I would give it another week and see.

Good Luck!