Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pepperguy222

What kind of peppers do i have here?

PepperGuy222
11 years ago

Honestly, Ive absent mindedly lost the package they came in and I am new to this whole pepper planting thing, but man do I love it. I just cant put my finger on what these are. Theyre VERY SKINNY and VERY LONG, sort of curl at the end. I was thinking Cayenne but theyre not as "full" as the Cayennes I see online. Can you guys and gals help me out?

Comments (21)

• esox07 (4b) Wisconsin
    11 years ago

Maybe this one:
    Long, skinny red pepper similar in appearance to the cayenne. The Kung Pao Pepper is a fairly recently introduced hybrid with excellent mildly hot flavor and is often used in Thai and other Southeast Asian cuisine. Fruits are very long, to 6-9", dark red in color, with thin walls. Plants are fast-growing and vigorous.
    Maturity: 80-90 Days
    Heat: Medium to hot.
    Scoville 7000-12,000

• Edymnion
    11 years ago

Perhaps a Chiles de Arbol.

Might also be a Joe's Long (a type of cayenne, but longer and thinner).

• PepperGuy222
    Original Author
    11 years ago

yea i was so confused becaise they look so similar to every other cayenne yet they...arent...cayenne...thanks everyone!

• peppermeister1
    11 years ago

I don't think it is a Kung Pao either, I grew that last year. They get long, but not that long. Then again I'm growing Sigaretto di Bergamo chile that is supposed to be 3 - 4" and mine are averaging 8 inches.

I like the look of that pepper though, uniquely long and thin.

Here is a link that might be useful: Pepper Profile: Kung Pao

• Edymnion
    11 years ago

Okay, scratch the chile de arbol. Just saw a scale picture of those things, and they're too small.

• homefry319
    11 years ago

So they kind of look like green beans,I found a photo taken in India where the peppers look similar, not much help as it doesn't have the name

Here is a link that might be useful: See photo here

• PepperGuy222
    Original Author