Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pepperguy222

Can you pickle superhots?

PepperGuy222
10 years ago

Me and my neighbor have been contemplating pickling our bhuts and naga vipers. Has anyone done this? Let me know if you have or even if you think it's a good idea.

Comments (10)

• vermiman
    10 years ago

Sure you can. If you can handle eating whole raw pods, pickling would be an adventurous move. I wouldn't see someone eating them like pickled jalapenoes.

• chilliwin
    10 years ago

Very good idea :) my problem is I never did before this time I am thinking to do it.

Caelian

• PepperGuy222
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I've never done this before so I'm a little confused. After they're pickled you can't cut them up and eat them? They have to be eaten whole?

• chilliwin
    10 years ago

I do not know any type of pickling. I like this type of pickle.

Here is a link that might be useful: Pickle

• chilemilio
    10 years ago

My wife pickled me a couple mixes of regular and super hots last year. They came out pretty good, only issue was that everything in the jar turned into a superhot. We cut them up, and used every so often. They gave an excellent kick in your average hoagie/sandwich.. you can even use the supremely hot pickle juice in soups. for reference, she used recipes from the 'joy of pickling' book.

We also just threw some superhots in a seasoned vinegar mix (coriander, peppercorns, salt, oregano, etc..) with cucumbers, onions, and carrots, and let them sit in the fridge. Depending on how long the veggies sat determined the amount of pain they inflicted. But they were good for sandwiches, or for sprinkling the liquid over rice with fish or a fried egg

Happy pickling! -E

• woohooman San Diego CA zone 10a
    10 years ago