Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
shoontok

Life expectancy of pepper plants?

shoontok
13 years ago

Hello all ya hot pepper freaks.

Being that this is my first year growing my own peppers and have about 8 to 10 varieties growing in the yard... i lost track and dont feel have the mental energy to count all of em right now, i was wondering if all pepper plants will survive another season if I treat them accordingly and overwinter them properly inside to plant them again next season.

Im definetly not gonna save the large mutlitude of plants overwinter. maybe just 4 plants i will save being that i will use one windowsill withe best sun and also have a sunlight type flourescent bulbs over head that window.

So far im thinking about saving one carribean red and my only cayenne plant. And possibly 2 more plants of any of the following..... Hungarian Wax, Habanero, Serrano, Hot Cherry pepper, Jalapeno, maybe even one of the Bell varietes i have.

Guess my question is that how many seasons can ya get out of one plant or is really dependent on variety?

Any info on this topic much appreciated.

Jim

Comments (14)

• greenman28 NorCal 7b/8a
    13 years ago

All chiles are perennial, so there's no reason that they can't live many years.
    I've heard of peppers regularly growing for five, eight, or even twelve years.

Three years ago, someone posted a link to growing Hot Peppers as Bonsai.
    As soon as I learned that chiles could be grown for more than a year, I decided
    to see exactly how long I could keep a plant alive. And that's what started my
    adventures in hot peppers - not heat, not color, not flavor....just longevity.

My first year, I bought six Hungarian Wax Peppers.
    I selected one for over-wintering, and twice now I've been successful. I think that
    the harvest is more bountiful and of higher quality on older plants.

Josh

• tsheets
    13 years ago