Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
j_dubyak

(sigh) Pepper Maggots = Overwhelming Feeling of Defeat

j_dubyak
16 years ago

Welcome to my pity party.

I made the (disturbing/disgusting) disvocery that my pepper patch is positively infested with pepper maggots. Of the 10 or so cayennes I picked today, every one had maggots. My Hot Portugals have likely found the same fate.

This is my first year growing peppers and I'm pretty bummed about this. I had big plans for those peppers! I guess next year one of my first investments will be a few floating row covers, but that is a cold comfort in mid August...

Comments (23)

• koreyk
    16 years ago

I grieve with you.

Where abouts do you live that there are so many maggots.

Maybe hopefully some peppers are not so attractive to the maggots.

• thepodpiper
    16 years ago

jasonk, I feel your pain i have over 125 plants and thousands and thousands of peppers that i fear will mostly be lost. I have thrown away at least 500 peppers so far every one of them with maggots. They have not bothered the small pods and so far I have not seen any damage to any of my Habs Bhuts or Naga's. I too will take extra care in trying to elimanate this problem next year. Where do you live?

Dale

• j_dubyak
    Original Author
    16 years ago

I live in Southern Ontario (Canada), which you wouldn't think would be a horrible place for this since, peppers aren't indigenous, but there you go.

• thepodpiper
    16 years ago

I live in metro detroit and pepper maggots are not known to be in this region from what my county extension has told me. I just came in from the yard and i am starting to pull my plants 15 plants so far and I will probably pull many more in the next couple of days. Its just not worth picking the peppers and watching them rot. I would estimate that 90% of the pods are affected by these maggots.

Dale

• bobsyouruncle
    16 years ago

Pepper maggots are evil. I feel for you. What is the best way to control/prevent them?