Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
obchili

Jim Nardello With Heat?

obchili
9 years ago

Hi there. I was just wondering if anyone out there has had any JN plants with lots of heat, and I'm talking more than a jalape�o. The first while it was producing, they were mild and tasty, and now my gf does not like them anymore. They were originally for her to pickle, and now she wants no part of them. Is it possible for this to happen if they crossed with something of mine? I am a first year grower and this baffles me. Thank you.

Comments (8)

• djoyofficial
    9 years ago

If they did cross with something of yours.... everything I have read says that the cross/heat won't show until you plant the seeds that come from the cross.... if that makes any sense. I'm assuming that by saying "first year" they aren't seeds from plants you had last year.

I'm new to growing peppers too but know, through a friend that has done em for years and through a few of my own..... often the first peppers don't have as much heat as the ones that come later. I've never had a nardello so can't say really.

Got any pictures? Do they look the same as other JD's?

dj

This post was edited by djoy on Tue, Aug 19, 14 at 2:19

• sunnibel7 Md 7
    9 years ago

I'm a little unclear about what your saying/asking too. They weren't hot, now they are, and these are the only JN you have ever planted? Do you have multiple plants? Best bet is one of those is not a JN, but a stray seed from another type that got into the Jan packet. Heat in peppers cannot be transferred from one plant to another in a single growing season.

• obchili
    Original Author
    9 years ago

@sunnibel7
    1. Correct, the first many picked had no heat associated to them, and now as we are picking them, it seems that they have a good bit of heat to them.
    2. Yes they are the only Jim Nardello ever planted.
    3. Multiple plants? 2 Jim Nardello, then a lot of others ranging from bells to Reapers.