Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
thinkstoomuch

pruning for overwintering

thinkstoomuch
13 years ago

I'm fairly new to gardening, and have been reading up about overwintering peppers. I plan to attempt this with my bell peppers and one hot pepper plant. I have a couple of questions:

1. I plan to take the route of drastic pruning to prep the plant for overwintering. Right now my plants have several peppers that are not ripe. Do I repot,bring inside, wait for them to ripen and then prune back? Or do I prune everything now,repot and bring inside?

2. I've chosen to use a mix of bark, perlite, pumice and quartz for my mix, as suggested on this forum. Unless I'm missing something, it seems like pumice is more of a west coast thing (I'm on the east coast). I don't think I'm going to have much luck locating it. What could I use instead?

3. Is quartz rock simply aquarium quartz rock? Or is there some special horticultural product I should be looking for?

I plan to work on this over the weekend, as our killing frosts will begin soon. The average first frost here is early October.

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Regards,

Kim

Comments (6)

• greenman28 NorCal 7b/8a
    13 years ago

Good morning, Kim!

I would typically remove the fruit and prune the plant down for the winter.
    This way, the plant puts its energy into root-making and new foliage, instead
    of tapping its last reserves to ripen those final pods.

If the pods are very close to ripening, go ahead and re-pot, let the pods color up,
    then pluck and prune the plant down.

I think that Pumice is definitely more available on the west coast.
    There are some alternatives to Pumice, which you might have more luck finding.
    First would be Turface MVP. I'll link to the Turface Locator on the web-site.
    I bought two 50 pound bags of Turface this spring, and I've been using it in my mixes.

Turface holds more water than Pumice, so you'd want to use less Turface in your mix.