Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ohioherb

Can you pick green habaneros / are they as hot?

OhioHerb
18 years ago

Hi. This is my first year growing habaneros. Can you pick them while they are still green? I'm wondering if they can ripen like tomatoes after they're picked.

Are green habaneros just as hot as ripe ones?

And if you can pick them while green, are the ones that ripen off the plant just as hot as if you waited to pick them ripe?

Comments (23)

• byron
    18 years ago

>>Can you pick them while they are still green?

Yes but they won't be as good as if they were vine ripened

>>Are green habaneros just as hot as ripe ones?
    No

>>And if you can pick them while green, are the ones that ripen off the plant just as hot as if you waited to pick them ripe?

NO

• opqdan
    18 years ago

Byron is correct.

Where do you live in OH?

• phantome
    18 years ago

This is my first year with habaneros too. I was wondering the same questions myself. My plants (I have six) have only yielded six peppers so far but they are loaded with blossoms. What's up with that? My cayennes have swamped me and I have had to resort to giving them away. btw I live in NCO, Ashland to be specific.

• OhioHerb
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Thanks for the info Byron and opqdan.

I'm from Ohio. I have about 30 peppers that look the size to be picked (haven't turned orange yet). I have had a few orange ones. I was just wondering about whether or not to pick the green ones because the weather is starting to get colder at night. I wasn't sure if they'd die off before ripening. I think I'll wait to see what happens because I'd rather have hotter ones! :)

• jenterra
    18 years ago

This is my first year also. We picked some green ones only because the wind knocked a plant out of the ground. My husband and brothers each ate a slice, (this was a large habenero, although still green) and they were in pain. Can't wait until they are orange.