Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kuvaszlvr

little brag

kuvaszlvr
9 years ago

Just to let you guys see how I've been spending my Saturday morning. I'm expanding my greenhouse from 8' x 26' to 16' x 26'. Yeah, I know I have swirl marks in the concrete, but heck, I'm not a profession. The guy that delivered and poured the concrete told my husband that he liked me, a woman that worked with the men (him and my husband) laying concrete. :-)

Pam

Comments (19)

• Mecdave Zone 8/HZ 9
    9 years ago

Looking good Pam. The swirl marks are there to keep folks from slipping on wet concrete, right? ;)

• DMForcier
    9 years ago

Oh, you'd have gotten along great with my mother. One of her favorite things was carpentry, especially framing. Poured her share of concrete too.

At 72 she fell out of the tree she was trimming and decided it was time to stop climbing trees.

She moved to GA and built my garden room and potting bench, then came inside and built the cabinets in my dining room. Mostly with hand tools.

When she got sick she had just finished installing a tongue and groove oak floor and new bathroom in her house.

But she didn't like spicy hot food. Oh well. Insisted that I would eventually burn off my taste buds.
    --

Now that's a serious greenhouse! How are you with a saw and a nail gun?

Dennis

• kuvaszlvr
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Wow... that's great! I like your mother. Although, I'm a woodworker, I don't like carpentry work. I've got a nice table saw, a nice band saw, my radial arm saw is toast, got a nice jointer, planer, and a few routers. I don't have a nail gun, I'm extremely accident prone and my husband won't allow me to have one, I've injured myself one too many times with my saws, a few trips to the ER. ;-) I want a nail gun, my husband jokes, "watch out dogs!" anyway, I prefer screws to nails, and I've got 2 Dewalt power drills, one dewalt electric drill, and one dewalt driver, so I'm covered (and about 4 battery packs).