Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kateswchicago

Help with peppers!

KateSWChicago
11 years ago

Hi Everyone,

This is my first year planting peppers. I'm now trying to identify what the heck I got!

From left to right, I think I have:

#1 - jalapeno

#2 - hungarian wax

#3 - ?? italian roaster??

#4 & #5 - cayenne peppers

Any help would be so very appreciated....

-Kate

Comments (7)

• esox07 (4b) Wisconsin
    11 years ago

If that was the 4 varieties you planted, then I would say you have them ID'd correctly.
    Bruce

• woohooman San Diego CA zone 10a
    11 years ago

#4 and #5 look like chile de arboles. #1 looks like a jalapeno or serrano. Does the plant that the supposed Jalapeno have long spindly branches with tons of fruit. if so, it may be a serrano.

I'm no expert though. others in here are much more adept at ID'ing than I.

Kevin

• KateSWChicago
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Yes! The alleged jalapeno grew a TON of fruit and has branches like you described. Definitely might be serrano. I don't know, I just thought jalapenos would be bigger. To be honest, we thought #3 was a jalapeno but then realized it might be too big. When we get jalapeno poppers at the store, they seem much bigger than #1. :p

I put the seed packet of what I planted in a VERY safe place....so SAFE I cannot, for the life of me, find it. Novice gardener. Lesson learned. I started a gardening journal so that won't happen again....

Thanks!

11 years ago

Kate:

I think I've seen that pack in the bigbox stores before. It's called a hot pepper medley or salsa medley or something like that, right?