Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
treadstone06

Saving peppers

Treadstone06
9 years ago

This is my first year doing a garden so I'm learning a lot. However, I'm needing some assistance. I've got oodles of jalapeno/banana peppers. As much as I use them, I still need to figure out how to make them last.

I've read that I can just pick them and throw them into the freezer bag/freezer but other sites have it as cooking them first. I know I'd like to dry a few-found a good website teaching that a few minutes ago-but I'm a little lost on how to freeze them.

Thank you for your time.

Comments (25)

• lazy_gardens
    9 years ago

If you just freeze them, they will go mushy.

Split, seed and blanch them (30-60 seconds in boiling water, followed by an ice-water dunk) then freeze.

Or roast them over an open flame, peel and freeze.

• woohooman San Diego CA zone 10a
    9 years ago

First, I wouldn't dry green ones. They just won't taste good. You can pickle them -- that's a good way to preserve. Freezing is another way, but like lazy mentioned, they'll get mushy. But will do just fine in soups, stews, and such from what I hear.

If i were to freeze, I would do it like lazygardens does -- roast, peel, freeze.

Kevin

• petesapie5
    9 years ago

I have been freezing my peppers with a vacuum freezer for 3 years now, they come out "mushy" when thawed but if you cut them as soon as you pick they taste wonderful. You can use a pressure canner and "raw" pack them and as stated in what I have read, results with great taste and crunch. The downside of that is you can only use pint jars, and if you grow alot of peppers as I do, that's alot of money and alot of pint jars. Hot peppers do need to be "skinned", but it's not necessary, you just get "thick" skinned peppers if you don't. Hope this helps!

• seysonn
    9 years ago