Return to the Hot Pepper Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Overwintering Cayenne

Posted by cheezdoodle12 6 (My Page) on
Sat, Sep 15, 12 at 21:53

Ok.. I've never done this overwintering.. and this is my first year really taking care of hot pepper plants seriously.

I trimmed my best plant back and transplanted into "clean" soil earlier today. Now, just need to keep it alive for a few months. :)

Does this look ok to start or should it be any shorter? Do I continue trimming if it sprouts more leaves? (Assuming it survives the transplant.. lol.)

Overwinter1, Photo 1 of my trimmed cayenne plant

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Overwintering Cayenne

Here's a close up of the stem... Would it hurt it to cut it shorter or should I just leave it as is..???
Overwinter 2, Photo 2 of cayenne plant trimmed down.

o

You can cut it shorter if you want, but, it looks good to me.

Let it grow some new leaves / branches, and you may want to trim it later on if it starts getting too spindly. Actually, I found that treating it like a bonsai and trying to keep it pretty compact worked well on one I did last year and let grow out over the Summer.

o

Looks OK to me. It depends so much on how much it grows during it's confinement. Mine will usually bloom but I pinch them off.

o

A Pruned tepin

Photobucket

Same tepin 10 weeks later

Photobucket

You can pretty much prune how you want. Prune the top and roots the same amount.

o

• Posted by esox07 4b Wisconsin (My Page) on
    Sun, Sep 16, 12 at 11:10

Yes, I think you pruned it about right. The only sugestion I have is that you should always prune just above a node (place where the plant branches). I noticed several of the branches were pruned below the node. It is probably OK, but most likely all the plant beyond the node will eventually die off. You should always trim the dead or dying parts as they appear.