Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
judo_and_peppers

putting a container plant in the ground

judo_and_peppers
10 years ago

I've got 2 brain strain 7pots in the same 5 gallon pot. it's about 4 ft tall. needless to say it's root bound as heck. now, but I can't afford a pot big enough to help the situation. plus when I repotted this thing last time I way overcompacted the soil. this is my first year growing. it was a noob mistake. yes, you read that right. it's both overcompacted AND rootbound, and I can't afford a bigger pot.

I am strongly considering just digging a (really deep) hole and putting it in the ground. any thoughts on this? I've got a bag of topsoil sitting around, so I can condition the soil around it a bit. and I can try to break up the root ball a bit.

I live in florida, so "winter" is sort of a misnomer here. my goal is to get as many pods out of it as possible, but it's dropping buds like crazy. is putting it in the ground a good idea? I mean it seems like it, but things that seemed like a good idea have hurt my yields a lot. so this time I'm asking BEFORE I make a drastic decision. so, any thoughts? it's about to be the weekend. now is the time to do it.

Comments (18)

• seysonn
    10 years ago

IMO, you can . I would dig the hole wider too.
    Do you know how to get it out of the bucket ?

• judo_and_peppers
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I would certainly dig the hole wider and deeper. this is gonna be a huge hole.

I am 6'-5" so I have the perhaps overly optimistic option of just turning it upside down and pulling the bucket off. I might need a second set of hands. I'd like to reuse the bucket next year.

are there any big drawbacks or complications involved with putting a large container plant in the ground that might not be obvious to a noob?

• seysonn
    10 years ago

Sure, you can use pair of extra hands. How to do it ?