Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tomazo

Problems with pepper plants (pics)

tomazo
15 years ago

I'm new around here, so I hope the pics will be displayed correctly..

I'm also new to exotic peppers, and this year I've tried to grow Chocolate Habanero, Antilles Caribbean, and Naga Morrich.

I started the seeds indoors at April and even though I was overdue planting them out, the plants took off really really well.

I could actually see the difference every day.

the problems started a little later:

Choc. Hab. which was the biggest, started developing brown spots on the huge leaves and all the new growth was small, wrinkly dry and falling off. not to mention the flowers all falling off.

Naga: had deep green leaves with brittle brown edges, the plant itself was also deformed.

Antilles: had the same growth problem the others had.

all were growing in 25 liter containers and were given water at the first sign of wilting.

I wasn't happy about the soil though, as it wasn't draining fast enough.

I was feeding them with Biobizz's Biogrow not regularly.

I'm sure that you guys can help me understand what to do better for next year based on the attached pics.

the pics were taken around the end of September.

Thank you !

Tom.

Chocolate Habanero :

Naga Morrich:

Antilles Caribbean:

Comments (9)

• srullens
    15 years ago

looks like tobacco mosaic disease, to me I don't think there is a cure for it either.

• rootdoctor
    15 years ago

Need more info on the planting mix. Looks like a combination of PH / nutrient /heat issues to me. What direction is the wall facing that the plants are against?

• nc_crn
    15 years ago

Looks like a combo of things to me...