Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jeanieaus

Cotyledons turning purple-brown

JeanieAus
9 years ago

Hi! I'm new to growing seedlings this year and have a variety of hot chilli seedlings along with capsicums and eggplants growing. The seeds germinated quite well, but some of the cotyledons are turning a purple brownish colour. Is this normal? I'm a little concerned as I also have a tray of tomato and basil seedlings going, which also germinated well and grew well initially but started yellowing and now many are dying. After reading in this forum, I think it must have been over watering as I was watering both the chillis and tomatoes several times a day (lightly). The last time I watered was on Sunday, but I'm not sure of the health my chillis now with the colouring on the leaves! I have them sitting on a heat mat at around 28 degrees (82F), but our house gets cold at night and may have been getting below 60 F and I'm not sure the heat mat kept up. It has a thermostat and I have the seedlings close under four fluorescent lights with 3350 lumen. The seedlings are in soil blocks made with 3 parts compost 2 parts coco peat and 1 part river sand. The seedlings don't seem to be growing either, some have a little true leaf but haven't done much growing since I started them over 4 weeks ago (they germinated within 1 week mostly).

Comments (21)

• JeanieAus
    Original Author
    9 years ago

This is how I have them set up on the heat mat with thermostat under fluorescent lights and checking on the soil temperature with a thermometer.

• JeanieAus
    Original Author
    9 years ago

And these are some new chilli seedlings just come up on the right which I'm hoping will turn out better!

• seysonn
    9 years ago

Happy spring, Australians !

I have found that purpling tomato and pepper seedling is quite common. I think 2 factors may cause it, ambient temperatures and the amount/intensity/duration of light. It may also depend on varieties. Some get purple some won't (!?)