Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
flowersnhens

You people are crazy !!

flowersnhens
10 years ago

Hello everyone ! I am new to the pepper forum as I just started an interest in making hot pepper jelly and pepper relish. I have several very large gardens on my property and grow tons of tomatoes (heirloom) and winter squashes, as well as corn, artichokes and ground cherries and more. This year I grew California Wonder peppers, jalapeno and pepperoncini with great luck. I know, I know, you probably laugh at the thought of these very mild peppers but honestly I have no idea how anyone can eat some of the peppers that I have seen people list here. Is there a pepper on this earth that is too hot for any of you to eat???? I wouldn't even dare to try most of the peppers you guys are growing. I was putting together a list of peppers I want to grow next year, and decided to further investigate the intensity of the heat for several of them. Many of them have been eliminated from my list ...basically I am looking for enjoyment when eating homemade jelly and jams, with a bit of a "zing", but not punishment. =).

Please tell me how on earth anyone could possible tolerate the heat and/or effects of some of these peppers. I have seen people choke on this stuff and clearly just plain suffer for a while from eating hot peppers. I had Bhut Jolokia, Datil, Fatali and Scotch Bonnets on my list, but quickly removed them. I discovered by reading more about them that they are some of THE hottest there is.

I was telling my husband that it really must take a certain type of person or someone from different origins that can tolerate these hot peppers more than others.