Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
agape67_gw

First time Ghoster

Agape67
9 years ago

This is my first time growing a Ghost plant and I have a question. I have 6 plants in the same container. These plants were never near any other kind of peppers so I know that there is no cross breeding happening. All my 5 out of the 6 plants are producing deep red but 1 and that is producing yellow peppers. Why is this?

Comments (18)

• pepperdave
    9 years ago

Ghosts come in different colors Yellow is one of them. Not as hot as the Red but still a Ghost.
    They also come Brown, White [ I think a cross ] ,and Orange.
    If you save seeds from both you should be able to have 2 types next year.You got Ghosts just 2 different types. The yellow and Red have different flavors Yellow having less heat but really good flavor. Enjoy what you have and get some brown next year in a seed swap 3 flavors to enjoy. I know a farmer who got plants from an Amish grower and got a mix of all 3. Still all Ghosts.

• greenman28 NorCal 7b/8a
    9 years ago

Those Yellows don't look like Ghosts. Nagas, possibly.

Josh

• Mecdave Zone 8/HZ 9
    9 years ago

Agree with Josh in that they don't look like Ghosts. Here's mine...

I was amazed how much they taste like oranges, and were actually milder than the habs I grew this year. But then these are the first and only pods I've gotten off that plant so far.

• Agape67
    Original Author
    9 years ago

The still green peppers on this same plant are full of wrinkles like mecdave's picture.

• pepperdave
    9 years ago

Show us some red ones. I would not have any problem with those yellows they look great Nagas?,Butts? Why care, just enjoy them

• northeast_chileman
    9 years ago

Why is this?

Where did you get the seeds from? Last years swap?

• Agape67
    Original Author
    9 years ago

I will post a few more pics as well. The leaves on these plants are huge.

• djoyofficial
    9 years ago