Return to the Hot Pepper Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Fatalli Mash

Posted by jp10550 ga (My Page) on
Mon, Oct 1, 12 at 15:39

Picked some fatallis this weekend and started some mash. Fatalli mash makes the best sauces to me.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Fatalli Mash

I'm new to this. Would you mind sharing a list of steps in the mash process? I'm trying to make sauces, and not having much luck. Maybe I'll have more success with a mash type sauce. Thanks.

Tim

o
Unripe pepper use

Hi all, I've had a pretty good rookie year harvesting approx. 450 peppers(Serrano,Scotch-B,Habs,Cayenne,Ghost and Jalapenos). However I have approx 80-120 unripe peppers on my 12 potted plants. All are basically green or yellow.Is there anyway of using them or do I just consider them casualties of the fall? I have no room for them in my house. Thanks

o

Salsa verde?

Josh

o

jp,
the mash looks tasty.

Bill106,
you could always dry the green ones, make a flake. I did that a couple of years ago with what was still on the plants as the cold weather set in.

o

I too would like to know how you make "mash". Sorry for the off topic post. I did it again. fprgot to start a new post.

o

Bill106: The jalapenos and serranos pickle really well.

The cayennes, habs, and bonnets that have at least started to turn color will continue to do so at room temp and dry conditions(sheet tray in the garage, maybe?). I'm sure the same could be said for the ghost, but they do take SO long to get to final color.

Armageddon said he has some tricks to induce ripening, but I think he's on vacation. I'm sure some of the other guys/girls here might know a trick or two.

I've been growing peppers for a few years now with 10-20 plants each year. I have maybe thrown out 2-3 dozen the whole time due to rot. There's always something to do with those last peppers of the season.

o

Great thanks a lot. I just hate to waste them.

o

Fermenting is a good way.Linky dinky