Return to the Hot Pepper Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
My Habaneros are weird. Help!

Posted by markyd Yukon, OK (My Page) on
Fri, Oct 15, 10 at 21:02

I bought this as an established plant on eBay from Hirt's Gardens. I planted them way back in May, and they didn't start producing until about late August. Now, I'm brand new to gardening, but I always thought they turned from green to orange when maturing. These are turning from green to WHITE. Also, they are not wide like the habaneros I'm used to seeing...they're pretty narrow. I do understand there are white habaneros, but I don't have any idea what variety these are. How big should they get? When do I pick them? We have the first frost bearing down in probably the next month or less, so I really want to figure it out. Any ideas what I have here?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: My Habaneros are weird. Help!

Those are white bullet habaneros, there are a few different names,Very hot and delicious.You harvest them when creamy white like the one in your pic.
Kevin

o

Join the ever going list of people that got screwed by Hirt's Gardens. I purchased what was supposed to be Bhut Jolokias that turned out to be orange habs. Ironically, if you look on Amazon.com, they supposedly have a 94% positive rating. I emailed Amazon about why my negative comment (and others I know that also posted one) didn't appear. They told me my comments violated their policy for comments by mentioning a forum and other members. Something fishy...

o

interesting. So these don't get any bigger? What can I make with these? This is my first pepper harvest, so I'm new to this...

Do all the other typical habanero recipes apply?

Also, how do I preserve these until I have enough to make a batch of something? cut them open, remove spine/seeds, and freeze them?

thanks for the responses thus far.

o

They are certainly nice looking peppers, whatever they are.

Have you tasted them? Are they really hot?

o