Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bberkmor

Smoked Bhut Jolokia

bberkmor
11 years ago

Hey I got these smoked dried bhut jolokia from the patent magic plant company as a sorry for giving you the wrong seeds(ended up with peppers other than bhut jolokia) First thing I can say is they have a very good smoke flavour and probably one of the best peppers i've ever tasted. The down side is I was hoping for melt my face off hot and didn't get that. Do you guys have any experience with smoked/dried chili's not being as hot as fresh? Thanks to Ottawapepper I am going to "actually" grow some in 2013 as well as some butchT's and try some fresh just wondering what to expect. Sorry Im new to this, I am just used to grocery store habs and scotch bonnets as this was my first year growing. I gave about half away at work and I am getting mixed responses on how hot people find them(some almost die some don't :P). Thanks In advance for any responses.

Comments (11)

• esox07 (4b) Wisconsin
    11 years ago

bberkmor: If you can eat Habs and Scotch bonnets you probably have a fairly high tollerance to peppers but unless you have some genes that guard against hot peppers, you would be able to tell the difference between them and a bhut. Dried or otherwise, it should have "melted your face off". As for taste, forget about it. You get 3 seconds of taste before the fire burns your taste buds off.
    I am sorry to hear that you didn't get the seed you paid for. Glad Ottawa helped you out with new seed. Good luck next year and I hope you feel the burn.
    Bruce

• DMForcier
    11 years ago

I don't find that to be the case with BJs. The burn comes on relatively slowly compared to e.g. habs or fatalii. I get a good 5 seconds before the warning alarms go off, and 10 seconds before the hiccuping and weeping. :=[Actually, the time I pulled out of the air, but it is significantly longer, as well as melting a different part of my poor tongue.]

Those smoked BJs look yummy.

• bberkmor