Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chad5_gw

Hot Pepper Noob, Sayin Hello!

Chad5
10 years ago

Hello all! First off, I would like to thank all of the contributing members of this forum for sharing their info,pictures and videos. I can't tell you how much this is appreciated by us lurkers who don't have a clue and want to give hot peppers a serious go. Also, thank you for not shunning us beginners who have a million questions as it can be intimidating when you don't know where to start. I have been landscaping all of my life and organic garnening for about 5 years now. (not organic in containers). I like to take a TON of pictures of what I grow, however, the pictures on this forum maybe the best I've ever seen. True art. I plan on planting about 20 or so pepper plants next year in containers and in the garden ranging from medium hot to super hot. I began building my new grow station for next year and stumbled on a few questions. My first question is what types of peppers would you recommend for someone who is trying to test the waters? I plan to make sauces and powders out of most of the peppers, but we love spicy food in my house so we will also be eating alot cooked in meals. I had no idea these seeds were so much $ until I started shopping around which is why I would like some recomendations on which to purchase. I don't know if this helps but we cook alot of fish and chicken in this house so if any would pair nicely with this please let me know. Also, I don't know if I can post the website name that I am considering buying from, but they sell the Carolina Reaper and claim to be part of the devolopment team. If anyone knows what I am talking about...Is this a reputable supplier of seeds? Thank You, Chad

Comments (4)

• jtight
    10 years ago

Welcome.

As far as planting in "containers" just make sure the container is the size of a mature plant. Nothing worse than having to replant over a/ over b/c the plant outgrows the bucket.

Personally I have the following: