Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cslater_gw

Question about Growing Ghost Peppers

CSlater
12 years ago

Hi, ive been growing these naga jolokias for about 5 months and I have not had any peppers yet. I was wondering if this was normal?

The plant seems to be growing normal, it already had its flowers.Any suggestions?

Comments (16)

• User
    12 years ago

Jolokias, in my experience, are a long season plant. Depending on seasonal conditions they can take 7 to 9 months to produce ripe fruit.

• habjolokia z 6b/7
    12 years ago

Any pics? What growing conditions are they in? Seems like you got flowers but no peppers from them, did they drop or dry up hen drop?

• Edymnion
    12 years ago

Yeah, these things take a long time to start putting out flowers, and when they do they're hard to pollinate so you'll either need some very industrious insects or you'll have to pollinate by hand.

• greenman28 NorCal 7b/8a
    12 years ago

One of my buddies, who grew the same peppers from the same seeds that I used,
    hasn't had any significant pods on his plants. I'm not sure what happened, but it's strange.
    Too much fertilizer perhaps.

Josh

• CSlater
    Original Author
    12 years ago

I can try to get some pictures up later, but the flowers on the plant fell off into the soil, never dried up until the fell. The conditons of my house are on average about 75 degrees and sunlight on them for about 5+ hours a day.

12 years ago

Whoa, I didn't realize that you're growing these indoors....that changes things considerably.
    Are you using extra lighting? If you want peppers, you'll need much stronger indoor lighting.
    Remember, outdoor shade is much brighter than the sunniest window indoors.

Do you have a fan gently blowing on the plants?

Josh

• CSlater
    Original Author
    12 years ago

as of right now there is no extra lighting, and yes i have a fan on it.

so if i was to buy a light, what type of lighting should i use?

12 years ago