Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
phildeez_gw

Noob macro shots

Phildeez
10 years ago

Hello everybody, have not been very active lately but i harvested my remaining pepps and took a few decent macro shots. Its a new lense and I am a noob photographer so I would love some critiques from anyone knowledgeable out there.

Thanks!

Comments (8)

• seysonn
    10 years ago

Hahaha. "NOOB"???, I don't think so. You are as experienced as anybody can be. Good job !

• Phildeez
    Original Author
    10 years ago

That means a ton man thanks! Although I am a noob, hehe. So much to learn but I got a few pointers that really helped, namely the low iso and slow shutter speed.

• Chad5
    10 years ago

NIce pics and peppers! Winter stinks and this helps so keep them coming!

• willardb3
    10 years ago

These are close-ups, not macros. Macro is >1:1 magnification.
    You can use a smaller f-stop for more depth of field and then all the chiles would be in focus..

• User
    10 years ago

Nice shots Phildeez.

I concur with willard3, technically macro is >1:1 magnification and requires either a dedicated "macro" lens or a lens with macro capabilities.

Regardless of whether you're doing macro or close up, here's a few suggestions based on my experience...

- When possible, use a tripod;

- Turn off auto focus, manual will give you greater control;

- It may sound counter intuitive and won't work in all situations but when you can, you'll find fine focusing easier by first doing a rough focus manually and then fine focusing by moving the subject or camera (try it);

- Fill light (using reflectors or flash) is your friend;

- Consciously pick a point of focus and control how much foreground and background is sharp (depth of field) by adjusting your aperture (f-stop);

- pay attention to your background, especially if using deeper depth of field;

- Finally, play around with settings and shoot, shoot, shoot.

FWIW,

Bill

• tsheets
    10 years ago