Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
roger33

Cross Pollination

roger33
14 years ago

I'm new to growing peppers and seed saving. I've been reading that peppers cross pollinate rather easily. If I grow 3 different varieties planted next to each other in a row, would the seeds I save be the same as what was planted? Would I need to plant only 1 variety in order to have seeds true to the original?

Comments (14)

• spiced_ham
    14 years ago

If an insect visits the flower with pollen from another plant the resultant pepper will have a mix of self and crossed seeds in it. Pollinators visit many plants and fly quite a distance so as long as you are growing different peppers on the same property/garden there is a good chance that the polinators will be covered in pollen from all of them. It is quite easy to buy a yard or two of tulle netting at a fabric store and make bags big enough for young plants (if you can't sew, you can staple the sides together), and after a few fruit have set mark them and move the bag to a different plant.

• User
    14 years ago

In addition to spiced ham's feedback, the species you plant will increase or decrease the chance of cross pollination.

See link below.

Here is a link that might be useful: Cross pollination chart

• roger33
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks for the chart. That's interesting.

So once the plant has set fruit after being covered, those fruit are the ones I use for seed?

• User
    14 years ago

Correct.

• trfanatic
    14 years ago

Sorry guys, I am missing the point here. Just exactly what will the bags accomplish?

Thanks

Ravi

• tsheets
    14 years ago

They're to keep bees / insects from getting to the blooms and pollinating them with pollen from another type of pepper.

Won't hurt anything with the current crop, but, the resulting seeds will contain both genetics and will not grow out true to the plant it was harvested from.

• trfanatic
    14 years ago