Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ryseryse_2004

Bringing pepper plants inside for winter

ryseryse_2004
11 years ago

I have an ornamental hot pepper (turns purple to orange to red)plant that I bring indoors for the winter. I do this each year rather than starting new ones from seed each spring. I just grow it as a house plant. White flies are always a problem when bringing in plants but cinnamon on the soil surface takes care of them.

They want to lay their eggs in organic matter and don't like cinnamon.

Comments (4)

• cheezdoodle12
    11 years ago

Thanks for the tip!! I've never had a problem with White Flies but hear they are awful. I do see tiny gnats from time to time but I've been lucky so far.. I have 2 pepper plants, jalepeno and cayenne, and they've been indoors already for 2 months. I repotted them in brand new soil and clipped and cleaned the roots before bringing them in. It's my first year doing this overwintering..

• heygeno
    11 years ago

I go in phases with bringing peppers in for the winter. At one time, I overwintered one for ( 3-4 ?) years before it bit the dust....( prob from neglect ).

This year I went wild and brought in 10 or more plants. I never had a prob w/ aphids on peps before but this year I do. I have been dowsing them with alcohol spray to keep them in check....so far, it is working but I still see a few on CERTAIN plants. I have observed that my purple leaf peps dont get them . ( a fluke ? or do they dislike ? ) also, the aphids are a pink color.....sorry I have not been more specific with types or names for the peps, so far. Most of my peps were beautiful and strong this season...wish I could have said the same for toms..... ugh. ( live in Ohio, blight the past 2 years.....)

Never had white fly prob.... the soil gnats I hang pcs of fly paper for.... but the yellow sticky traps get 75% more gnats !

• ryseryse_2004
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Sorry - I didn't mean white flys - I meant those little knats.