Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jimster_gw

Uses of Habaneros?

jimster
18 years ago

I'm curious about the habanero craze. I use a variety of Mexican chiles for sauces, stuffing and garnish. I know habaneros are the chile of choice in the Yucatan. Jalapeno chiles apparently are much too mild for Yucateno taste buds. I've experimented a little bit with habaneros but, other than for making hot sauce, I haven't found a suitable use for them. Chomping on fresh ones goes beyond my heat tolerance. Can you habanero heads clue me in?

Jim

Comments (41)

• Dax_Wms
    18 years ago

Hi Jimster - I don't subscribe to be a habanero head, but I have been growing them for the past five years, (along with Anaheim and Jalapeno's) I beleve they work well when they are part of a layering within a fresh salsa. There are numerous other ways to use them but for the most part they are the "heat" :-)and I would never just chomp on one.

Dave - Southern California

• HoosierCheroKee
    18 years ago

Jim,

I love the flavor of Habaneros in various bottled hot sauces. I find it superior to Tabasco, etc. But in chili and other such stews, it seems Habaneros just add heat and their peculiar flavor is lost in the mix.

Mostly, I grow Habs just to look at since I think the plants with their colorful pendant pods are beautiful. I usually just give the peppers away to the Mommies in the kitchen at Smokey Bones here. What they do with them I dunno, but they always are appreciative.

Bill

• sndk
    18 years ago

I grow them for powder, and sandwich slices.

Another good way to eat them is put a bunch in a blender, turn them into puree, and splash liberally over everything else you eat that you didn't first put a slice or powder on :)

• MrClint
    18 years ago

Roasted and chopped habs add a lot of flavor and pep to chili. Rest assured, whatever you add them to -- you don't need to add very much. :-)

• jimster
    Original Author
    18 years ago