Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
eagleclaww

Hello everybody

eagleclaww
9 years ago

A newbie gardener. My lame attempt to grow tomatoes last year was a disaster.
This year, I decided to grow my own hot peppers (and more tomatoes).

So... I'm really looking into how to grow a garden (getting a book on gardening, another one specific to hot peppers. Anyway, I thought I'd join a forum on hot peppers.

The varieties I picked:
1. Carolina Reaper
2. Chocolate Douglah (aka Chocolate 7 Pot/Trinidad Douglah)
3. Red Savanna
4. Thai Sun Chili
5. Charleston Cayenne (I think same as Carolina Cayenne).

Debating on getting these two

Yukatan White Habenero
Chocolate Scotch Bonnet

I know it seems overkill, but as a beginner, I'm not sure I'll get all of them to get to fruit. Or I might be so good, I'll give some plants away. I'm mostly going for container gardening. Although some will be outside I'm sure, on the porch or in the yard, but in a container.

Comments (10)

• Hermitian
    9 years ago

Welcome! Please put at least your USDA cold hardiness zone if not your locale in your profile. It will be much easier for us to understand your growing situation. :)

• pepperchuck
    9 years ago

Overkill? Ha, welcome to the world of overkill! Many of us grow peppers that exceed the 1000000 mark on the Scoville scale and then some. And then we eat them!

This forum is a great resource for everything from advice to seeds, so, welcome!!

This post was edited by pepperchuck on Tue, Dec 16, 14 at 1:59

• ozzy2001
    9 years ago

Ya welcome to the forum. I just got on here last growing season, which is when I started my first attempt at gardening. I'm now hooked and come on here every day to read what everyone else is up to and most importantly learn.

• habjolokia z 6b/7
    9 years ago