Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
terrabeth

Raised beds with concrete sides? Leaf or ash layers?

terrabeth
17 years ago

I'm wondering if it might be cheaper, yet still in good keeping with permaculture principles and technique, to build my raised beds with concrete? This is just off the top of my head, and I've never done anything like this before (I'm just starting this year for my first garden aside from my bucket/container garden)... but I'm wondering if I could use just enough wood to make a concrete form for one raised bed, pour it, then use the forms to make subsequent beds?

I'm remembering that maybe there's a temperature limitation, though, for when one can set concrete? I'm in NW Arkansas... I'd want to accomplish several raised beds in time for spring planting. I don't have enough money to purchase all wood, nor concrete blocks or bricks (we live penny to penny for the time being, while I'm finishing up school). Any suggestions? On the concrete idea, or any other idea?

Also, can I just make the beds right on top of untilled yard grass and soil that doesn't seem to support much, including grass? Meaning, can I make the bed over that, with improved soil using compost, mulch, and such? How tall, given the soil underneath might not be so good at the moment? I also have a ton of oak and maple leaves, could those be a bottom layer, maybe? I've heard it's good to put down a layer of wood ash or lime?

starting from scratch, any advice welcome,

Terrabeth )O(

Comments (16)

• seraphima
    17 years ago

The making of concrete is one of the most fossil-fuel intensive processes and contributes strongly to global warming. You may want to consider if you want to support this industry.

How about putting a request out on your local freecycle or Craigslist for used wood? You might be able to get your materials for free!