Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
danaann_nc

First steps to homesteading

danaann_nc
20 years ago

I am quite new to homesteading. We have always planted a garden. But... Please, I need advice on where to actually begin moving toward a more self-sustaining lifestyle. I will take any recommendations... especially books, videos, etc.

Comments (5)

• Eric_Burke
    20 years ago

I began by reading as many books as I could find.
    Some favorites:

John Seymour's "Complete Guide To Self Sufficiency," and "The Forgotten Arts and Crafts."

"Gaia's Garden" was particularly helpful.

I am waiting for my copy of "How To Grow More Vegetables, Fruit, Nuts, Berries, Grains and Other Crops Than You Ever Thought Possible on Less Land Than You Can Imagine" by John Jeavons

And of course, "Square Foot Gardening" by Mel Bartholomew. It is a good primer.

Whoops! I gotta run and catch my train.
    Good luck!
    Eric in Japan

• joel_bc
    20 years ago

There are some "old classics" such as Living the Good Life, by Helen and Scott Nearing -- and their sequel Continuing the Good Life. They describe something like fifty years of living on the land, planning out projects, doing, learning, and values. Another old classic (probably available used) is Five Acres and Independence.

A really excellent practical manual written sometime around 1970 is one titled Grow It!, by Richard W. Langer -- not just about soil, crops, etc but about good decision making, planning, and so on at the homestead (rather than backyard garden) level.

You might also need to have basic technical manuals on water systems, house and outbuilding wiring, plumbing, woods management, carpentry, concrete forming, etc. Look in used bookstores for items like these -- much more affordable. But if you cannot find good used ones, buy new ones -- as you find you need them.