Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lurleene_gw

Planting on a wet slope and avoiding slugs

lurleene
15 years ago

Hello everyone, I am just starting to learn about permaculture and have a basic understanding of its goals and methods, but have absolutely no specific knowledge I can apply to this challenge.

Our front yard is very small, and most of it is a steep slope. The slope (which is north-facing) ends right on the street. Grass was planted on this slope, but I'm sure I don't have to tell you why this is silly.

DH and I - before reading about permaculture - planted a groundcover on part of the slope last year (some vinca variety, I forgot which). It was looking good until August and the slugs came. The slugs ate about 85% of the plants.

I'm not interested in using beer traps, slug pellets and salt - I want to plant something that makes sense for this piece of land. I recognize that we will need to plant some variety of things, but I have no idea what. Because of the lay of the land, this area gets a fair amount of water running down the slope, so I can't really imagine what plants could go there that wouldn't be a slug haven - all moist and shaded until afternoon.

Here is a photo of the front - this is an old picture and I didn't take it for this post, but you can see what the slope looks like. You can't see the road in the picture, but it's right at the bottom of the slope parallel to the front of the house (just out of sight - I was standing on the road to take the picture).

http://sc.leadix.com/art_test/files/DSC00141.JPG

Ideas?

Comments (5)

• arijah
    15 years ago

You have a beautiful home. :)
    I found a linky on slug detterents etc here:
    http://www.gardenguides.com/pests/tips/slugs.asp

apparently, slugs dont prefer ginger, garlic, mint, chives, red lettuce, red cabbage, sage, sunflower, fennel, foxglove, mint, chicory.

considering the shade, maybe not the sunflower, and i wouldnt plant the foxglove near the edibles.