Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sahira_gw

Best book to get started on home-scale permaculture?

sahira
16 years ago

Hello, I am very interested in permaculture, but all the books are very expensive and my budget is limited, so my question is:

If I can buy only ONE book to get me started doing home-scale permaculture, what should it be? (And why is that one best?)

I am in Zone 7 in Virginia (USA). My current yard is a couple of acres in the country, but I could end up in a smaller urban or suburban lot sometime in the next couple of years, so I'd *prefer* something that could be used for either situation. Ultimately I'd like to use a combination of permaculture and other techniques (Square Foot Gardening, Four Season Harvest, etc.) to supply most of my family's veggies and fruits for much of the year. I am attracted to the self-sufficient homesteading ideal, but as this is my first year gardening at all, I'm trying not to be too over-ambitious. Better to grow *something* than get bogged down trying to grow *everything* and end up doing *nothing*!

Anyway, thanks for your time.

Comments (7)

• gardenlen
    16 years ago

g'day sahira,

on my permaculture essay page we have a free link to a free intro to permaculture course, full course details.

this maybe/shouldbe of some help to you and negate the need for any book buying. the best book would be "intro' to permaculture" by 'bill molleson and ?', there is a paper back version, hard cove copy very expensive.

anyhow have a look at that course if the link is dead or fails let me know and give me you e/m addy i can send it as an attachment it is a 150 page pdf file.

other than that what is it you want help with?

len

Here is a link that might be useful: len's garden page

• everythinggardens
    16 years ago

hands down: gaia's garden by toby hemenway

2nd: food not lawns by heather c. flores

web reading is free!

enjoy!

• muddyclogs
    16 years ago