Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
beki_gw

Earth Activist Penetrates Garden Club!

beki
17 years ago

Well, I'm new to the little town, planting a food forest in my little Z7 back yard, and I thought, in order to network and get to know my outer zones, so to speak, I'd join the ladies of the local Garden Club.

Well, they are hard-working, mianstream, civic-minded, unfussy, sweet, uninformed, and interested, even hungry for information.

So now I'm committed to teaching, with the greater goal of Permaculturing my town! And I've not taken the certification course yet, just studied on my own, so I need to keep that balance, too.

I'm scheduled to give a talk on P-Culture in September, in which I thought I'd intro the topic, and then see who might want to form a separate study group, to read Gaia's Garden together: I think it's the most accessible book for newbies, don't you think?

What else would you recommend, for basic curriculuum for such a group?

Comments (3)

• gardenlen
    17 years ago

g'day beki,

don't see that you need to do a course to be able to teach people permie principals, there is a big misconception that design (man made) aspect of this process is all perma-c is all about that is very wrong. get hold of mollesons introduction to permaculture that will be a great starting point on the simplicity of permaculture.

and gaia is just another gardening idea that has probably been extended by permaculture.

don't know you may even get some ideas out my essay?????

len

Here is a link that might be useful: lens garden page

• maureensnc
    17 years ago