Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lemmie_gw

sheet mulching small front yard? some q's

lemmie
12 years ago

Hi all,

This seems like a silly question, but I just can't figure it out.

I'm a newbie wanting to sheet mulch my front yard lawn. My little plots are somewhat small (one on the left is about 12'x10') and the grade is not insignificant When I read the sheet mulching instructions in Gaia's Garden, it seems like I'm going to need to stack at least 13" worth of material on the lawn.

{{gwi:1141672}}
Its hard to tell in the pic, but the grass slopes somewhat steeply down to the sidewalk, meaning anything I put there will most surely end up on the concrete. Do I put in edging and hope no one kicks it down so I can pile things inside? Should I dig the whole area out? Dig a trench along the borders? Any advice is appreciated!

Comments (10)

• Tiffany, purpleinopp Z8b Opp, AL
    12 years ago

This seems like a silly question, but I just can't figure it out. You've actually got a pretty tough situation there, not a silly question at all. I'm from OH and live in AL now, so my experiences are in totally different areas but the basic principles are usually fairly universal. If any of my advice is impractical for your location in CA, I'm sure someone will point it out.

I'm a newbie wanting to sheet mulch my front yard lawn.

Do you intend to grow something besides grass there, or you just want mulch instead of grass so you don't have to mow anymore? Advice I might offer would be the same either way, but I'm curious.

My little plots are somewhat small Plots - of grass, right?

Its hard to tell in the pic, but the grass slopes somewhat steeply down to the sidewalk,

I think that's from the base and roots of the tree maturing and rising.