Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
missinformation_gw

Meyer Lemon/Mexican Lime Espalier

missinformation
16 years ago

Anyone ever done this in Zone 8, or at all? I have 2 large south-facing, protected brick areas, and I'm thinking these 2 trees would be perfect. I already have them and dread bringing them in for winter, hate keeping up with them in pots, etc.

I think they're a good size for not colliding with the eaves of the house. I've never done this before, and I cannot find an espalier board. Should I allow them to establish for several weeks before pruning, or go an entire season or what? I definitely don't want to kill them, but they both seem to be tough plants.

Comments (3)

• gardenlen
    16 years ago

g'day missinformation,

can't see why it wouldn't work, citrus do like a mediterannean climate that is hot and dry summer and cold winters, should be plenty of books at the library on espaliering fruit trees. did you do a google at all?

len

Here is a link that might be useful: len's garden page

• tclynx
    16 years ago