Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
liponeer

companion plant suggestions

liponeer
13 years ago

I am a novice gardener who is reading Gaia's garden. Can you suggest some plants to plant together in my sheet mulch beds?

I read that I live in zone 8b and in my area it is a good time to plant:

Radishes, spinach, Asian greens, mache, fava beans, cover crops

I have no idea about flowers and shrubs.

Gaia's garden talks about planting nitrogen fixers, but not too much or you cause an imbalance. I read about plants that fix high amounts of nitrogen and plants that fix low amounts. This leaves me with no clue at all.

The book also talks about planting plants together that benefit from the insects that they attract, but I haven't found what plants these are to combine that can be planted now.

Can you suggest plants that fix the right amount of nitrogen and have insects that benefit each other, that I can plant now (October)?

Comments (3)

• flora_uk
    13 years ago

I would stop worrying and just plant what is recommended for your area now. Sounds as if you could also try garlic, peas, chard and brassicas. Deal with problems if they arise and don't bother about what Gaia's garden says if it's just confusing you. IMO this kind of 'information' sounds interesting but in an ordinary domestic garden situation it is unnecessarily complicated and not particularly useful.

As long as you have reasonable soil stuff will grow. To get reasonable soil make and add compost. Add a bit of manure if you can get it. Plants are fairly tolerant things and do not require precision treatment for you to get a fair crop.

As it happens favas, or any kind of bean, are nitrogen fixers and will also attract insect pollinators. I doubt you could get an 'imbalance' of nitrogen by planting nitrogen fixers. You'd need to be planting acres of them over a period of years. None of the other crops you mention need pollination since what you eat is either the leaves or the roots not the fruit or seeds.