Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mycarbumps

Permaculture vs. Organics

mycarbumps
21 years ago

what exactly is the difference between permaculture and organic gardening, isnt the focus of both to garden or farm in a way that can be sustained without degradation? im kind of new to this so any of your thoughts are appreciated. ~Ryan

Comments (31)

• polly_il
    21 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Ryan, I'm still working on figuring this out myself, so I won't be of much help! What I have figured out so far, is that permaculture goes a bit deeper; and encompasses much more than just the garden - kinda sorta more of a lifestyle philosophy?!?

• marshallz10
    21 years ago

I know quite a bit about organics but less so about permaculture. Both traditions take a "systems" approach to land/water management but permaculture is a more holistic approach of systems managed over the longer term. Thus: Perma[ment agri]culture. At some point, the differences between the two method may seem to merge where the organic farm may plant similar tree and row crops, manage the landscape for maximum soil retention and water storage/availability. The permaculture farm may not be organic at all if the farmer uses any synthetic herbicides, pesticides and fertilizers. This is a sensitive issue with a lot of permaculture activists.

Organic largely focuses on working crops and livestock using natural (nonsynthetic) materials and traditional agronomic practices that enhance soil building and maintain biological diversity. By maintaining diversity of cropping and even incorporated beneficial habitats, the farmer may avoid major outbreaks of pests and diseases while the vibrant soil gives sustenance to the crops. The organic operation is often a commercial endeavor for the farmer rather than a livestyle commitment, and he or she might not even live on the farm. (As I do not)