Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
aiedail

Help! What's wrong with my potatoes?

aiedail
10 years ago

This is my first time growing potatoes and i am a total noob when it comes to gardening. A few days ago my potato plant had a bit of a whitefly infestation so i looked up remedies online and found that whiteflies could be deterred by using a solution of 50% rubbing alcohol and 50% water with a bit of dish washing liquid. i tried to get as much of the whitefly eggs off by using a rag, maybe i shouldn't have done that as i bruised some leaves? So i sprayed the plant with the solution and the following morning i saw that the leaves had dark spots underneath and some of the leaves had already turned a real dark brown and have curled up. What did i do wrong? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Comments (5)

• Kimmsr
    10 years ago

What you sprayed probably was too harsh for the plants, that is not a good plant spray. Time of day the spray was applied is also a factor.
    An Insecticidal Soap spray, applied either early in the morning or at dusk, is somewhat effective as would a Neem Oil spray.
    The linked article below may be of some use.

Here is a link that might be useful: About Whiteflies

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    10 years ago

What did i do wrong?

==>>>> you over-reacted .... and used some voodoo remedy in high concentration ... and expected an immediate .. perfect result ...

all to do now.. is give it time.. and see how new.. fresh.. unaffected shoots develop

if they remain free of the problem.. then problem solved

if not... we will act then ...

i suspect.. that all the browning is where the bug assaulted the leaf surface.. and your remedy.. then burned the already affected area ... or your stuff just burned it gratuitously ....

now.. as a noob... how did you define whitefly as the issue .. and are you 100 % sure they werent something else????