Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
heshamsaeed

Pepper problem

heshamsaeed
10 years ago

I am a doctor and gardening beginner, trying my luck with vegetables at home, using containers. I am living in the middle east, where the temp (at winter) ranges between 18-28 degrees Celsius (65-84 F).
I started since Nov/December with Tomatoes (2 trees), Cherry tomatoes (5 trees) and Sweet Peppers (3trees), having 2 trees/container. The cherries started to show fruits 2 weeks ago. Also the other tomatoes showed one cluster (3 fruits only).
The Peppers didn't flower yet !!! The new leaves look curly and ragged. I have no aphids. I've read on the net that it may be calcium deficiency, so I got some Ca gluconate 10% (from my hospital), diluted it 10 ml/100 ml of water, and started to spray it on the leaves of both pepper (and tomatoes) daily, but seems no value.
I water daily. I believe the container is fine and well-drained (I can see excess water dribbling from the bottom holes after I finish watering). Sun exposure about 5 hours direct light/day, the rest of the day is quite bright. I am protecting the trees with a very fine white mesh to protect from insects (I water the plant through the mesh. Air flow seems to me OK and it does not make any shade to the plant, almsot)
I started lately to add fertilizer powedered , as per the instruction of the nursery (don't know the exact formula). I got recently a 7-7-7 +TE liquid formula for foliar spray, and I wonder if it will help.

Thanks in advance

Comments (10)

• LoneCowboy
    10 years ago

One thing to consider is that the sun isn't out long enough at this time in the season to really tell the plant to go into a full bloom so its okay for the peppers to show signs of flowering but not actually flower. Also, the sun's light spectrum in your area will change as we near summer also stimulating the growth and later triggering flowering.