Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
paintedthumb

Help identifying insect pest on cyclamen

paintedthumb
10 years ago

I bought a cyclamen a little over a week ago at a flower show and just discovered several leaves covered with clearish off-white bugs. The leaf in the picture is about an inch tall. Sorry for the grainy image, I took the picture with my phone.

Thanks for any help!

Comments (10)

• PRO
    Whitelacey
    10 years ago

It looks like aphids. Just wash them off with a strong stream of warm water. If they come back, repeat.

Linda

• paintedthumb
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thank you so much, Linda! I'm relatively new to gardening and didn't realize aphids could be this color. I've seen green and pinkish ones. I should have done more googling! I was starting to get into 'WebMD mode' though and was afraid I'd convince myself it had something terrible :P I'm glad I just asked.

Thanks again, I really appreciate it.

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    10 years ago

since you are a newb ...

it would be wise to isolate this plant from any others... after checking the others for the same problem ...

put your hand over the potting media to hold it in the pot .... tip it over ...... and give it a shower with the kitchen sink faucet .... strong enough to dislodge them ... if not there.. with the hand held shower head ...

i bit to soon to do it outdoors in z5, i suspect ...

it can also be done with a spray bottle.. if not too big ...

tepid water .. not hot.. not cold ... like a spring shower ... on the undersides ...

if you just bought it ... take it back ... they sold you a vermin infested plant ...

ken

• Kimmsr
    10 years ago