Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rosie21_gw

Advice for my ponytail palm

rosie21
11 years ago

I am new to the whole gardening scene so please be patient with me. I got me a pony tail palm (pics attached) cause my mom really like it. But now looking at it closely, I am not sure if it is healthy or not. When i got it, half the root of the plant was out of the soil and unlike the other palms, this one had 3 branches (not that it matters)..... I wanted to know:

1) Does my plant look healthy to you? To me the base looks fine (there was some white mildew like stuff when i was re potting a few days ago, but I clean't it and put the plant in dry soil.

2) I have zoomed in on the leaves to show you the brown spots as well as the cuts in between. What is it due to? If it matters, I found a creamish yellowish spider in the plant, it's body was the size of a mustard seed (maybe a little bigger). Is it dangerous to the plant? i got a little freaked out and applied a mix of dishwasher liquid and veg. oil to the water and sprayed the leaves. Any other remedies?

These are the new shoots... I hope these look fine!

3) When must i water the plant and is there any specific quantity I need to put? I repotted the plant 2 days ago haven't watered the soil since then. Is there any need for plant food?

And lastly, how old do you think the plant is?

Thank you in advance and sorry for asking so many questions but my mom really likes the plant and I don't want to lose it to my stupidity.

Comments (13)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    11 years ago

did you properly dampen the potting medium.. prior to potting???

if so.. do not water again.. until your finger.. inserted.. feels dry ...

palms.. generally speaking.. need a drink.. then near drying.. if you think about it.. they dont live near swamps ...

try to replicate their native terrain.. and you will be close to how they need to be watered..