Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jennyrios3

Scale on a magnolia tree? How to treat it?

jennyrios3
11 years ago

Ugghh .. so you guys have helped confirm in my previous post that there is scale all over the holly plants in my front yard .. and now as I'm examining other things, I'm afraid it's on my magnolia tree! Does that sound right? Can scale infect a big tree like that? If so, how badly can it damage it? Is it something I can treat myself or do I need to call a professional? Thank you so much for any advice. I love this tree and want to start taking care of it properly.

This post was edited by Jenny_Rios on Fri, Mar 29, 13 at 13:17

Comments (10)

• jennyrios3
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Here are a couple more pictures. I am new to this and have not paid enough attention to my landscape over the years and am now paying the price! I want to fix things, though, and I appreciate any help. Thanks again!!!

• jennyrios3
    Original Author
    11 years ago

One more of the whole tree ..

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    11 years ago

Yep, the tree has a bad infestation of scale, I'm afraid. These insects can be found on almost any kind of woody shrub, vine, ot tree. Your tree looks like the foliage is thinning.....at least it does from that one image of the whole tree.

I would call a full service landscaping or a certified arborist. You need to locate a proficient professional with the knowledge and equipment to properly inject a systemic pesticide into the soil. The timing had to be right, the rate had to be accurate, and the volume applied must be correct for the size of your tree. The hollies can be done, too, if your professional thinks that they aren't too far gone.