Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
angela1234_gw

Springtails: What are your thoughts?

angela1234
10 years ago

I am new to potted plants and I noticed tiny white bugs in the soil of my new meyer lemon tree. I'm almost positive they are springtails. I've been reading up about them and I've read that they can be good because they eat decomposing organic material but they can also be bad because they may eat new roots.

I watered the plant once on Saturday and then this morning did a pencil test and the tip came up damp. I think that it is a sign that the soil isn't draining well and I may want to try repotting my tree into 511 or gritty mix soil for better drainage. Should I try something to get rid of the springtails? What are your thoughts on springtails, good or bad?

Comments (3)

• Kimmsr
    10 years ago

Springtails are mostly nothing more then obnoxious. They live on decaying vegetative waste, organic matter, and need quite moist conditions to exist. A potting soil that is mostly organic matter and is kept evenly moist is an ideal environment for them.
    One simple control measure is to allow the top 2 inches of the growing media to dry out before watering again.

Here is a link that might be useful: Springtails

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    10 years ago

IF YOU JUST BOUGHT IT.. AND ITS INFESTED WITH BUGS... RETURN IT ..

if you are new to potted plants.. i wonder how good your guess is to the bug ...

i dont know what the pencil tells you .. i use my finger.. to tell me when media is dry ...

if i watered my houseplants on saturday ... and they were still moist on thursday ... i would NOT be surprised ..

you are on the verge of loving this thing to death ... since getting it... you are contemplating insecticides.. repotting ... and i will bet you already fed it ...