Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jim_haaker

Tiny white spiders an alocasia

jim.haaker
11 years ago

I'm looking for the safest way to get rid of these. They appear to be very tiny spiders. I'm relatively new to this type of plant and have never encountered these.

Comments (8)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    11 years ago

they are mites.. not spiders.. aka spider mites...

is that a pond plant ... the name of which is escaping me ...

ken

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    11 years ago

Those are the cast-off skins of spider mites. Pretty messy housekeepers, aren't they? It is an indication that this plant has a bad infestation, a very bad one.

Safest and sometimes most effective means of controlling spider mites is by taking the plant to the sink and giving it a thorough shower...upper and lower surfaces of the leaves using the spray attachment. You might want to cover the potting soil with a layer of foil or plastic wrap.

I think that this might be one of the many Alocasia, but without a better image, I really wouldn't want to guess. Once we know what kind of plant it is, we can be in a better position to suggest other measures of control.

11 years ago

this drove me crazy last night.. its a short drive..

it looks like taro .. but as noted.. its not a great pic for ID ... jsut something about those matte pearly leaves ...

see link ..

but it doesnt matter what it is.. its SMites ...

ken

Here is a link that might be useful: link

11 years ago

thank you for your email

i do NOT open attached files from strangers ....

please post your second picture here ...

thx

ken

• Tiffany, purpleinopp Z8b Opp, AL
    11 years ago